SMHA honours players, volunteers with awards

Players from each of the 15 teams from initiation to midget were given trophies during the annual awards ceremony at Roi Theatre last week

Helga Steenhof receives the Rob and Belinda Layfield Award during the Smithers Minor Hockey Association's annual hockey awards night last Wednesday at the Roi Theatre.

Around the same time the ice was being removed from the Smithers Civic Centre, signalling the end of yet another season, the Smithers Minor Hockey Association chose to honour the players, parents and volunteers who dedicated their time and effort to making the season a success.

As part of the annual awards ceremony at the Roi Theatre last Wednesday, players from each of the 15 teams from initiation to midget were given trophies for how they behaved both on and off the ice over the last eight months.

“It’s nice to see all the kids recognized, not even just the ones that won awards, that’s always nice. But all the kids who come and put on their uniforms with their friends and their parents get to see them up on stage. It’s a nice way to end the season,” said Dave Turko, president of the association.

Memorial awards that were decided by the coaches were also handed out to players in the peewee and midget divisions.

The Lee W. Arnold Memorial Award winners for most inspirational players in the peewee division went to Liam Carroll and Noah Remillard.

The Roger Logan Memorial Award recipient, dedicated to the pee wee house player who demonstrated that they are playing hockey simply for the love of the game, was Lucas Chiaravalloti.

The most sportsmanlike players in the bantam division were Colton Bradford and Jacob Groot, while the most inspirational players in the midget division were Brayden Karrer and Sebastian Lowe.

“To be honest, they were announcing the trophies and I wasn’t paying attention and they called my name for the [Mark Greene Memorial] Award and I was pretty excited,” said Lowe, who wrapped up his eleventh and final season with minor hockey.

“It was a great experience, I loved it. The tournaments were fun, the coaching was great, playing hockey is awesome.”

This year’s unsung heroes in the midget division were Rylan Smaha-Muir and Bryce Deveau, and the most coachable players in the bantam division were Ethan Tucker and Hannah Pow.

Owen Sikkes with the Smokescreen Graphics Storm was named the goalie of the year, while Darren Fillier was named the volunteer/coach of the year.

This year’s Rob and Belinda Layfield Award recipient, which is given to a member showing hard work and perseverance for the good of the association as whole, was Helga Steenhof.

“I actually had received the minutes for our last meeting and I saw it on there that I had won the award. So it was kind of shock and surprise,” said Steenhof on winning the award.

“The list of people who have won this award is pretty amazing. I’m just grateful that I had an opportunity to be involved with Smithers minor hockey. It’s a fantastic organization and the people in it are in it for the good of the sport and the good of the kids.”

Steenhof worked as the referee in chief for the past seven years, organizing training for officials and scheduling them to ref games.

But it was a bitter-sweet night for Steenhof, as this is her last season with the association.

“It’s time for some new blood to come in. I changed a few things, brought in officiating [scheduling] online and on-ice training sessions, but now it’s time for someone else to step in and take it to a new level,” she said.

Memorial award winners in the initiation to atom divisions include Tyler Davidson, Allen Miller, Spencer Bird, Matthew Tucker and Jennifer and Dennis Conlon.


Just Posted

Coastal GasLink gets interim injunction against Unist’ot’en

The LNG pipeline company can start work Monday with enforcement approved by court.

Smithers Christmas Bird Count

Time to register for the annual bird count, an effort done across the hemisphere.

They’re engaged!

Birthday party turns into engagement party for Doug and Matilda

Hampers a chance to help in the Christmas spirit

SCSA sends around 350-400 hampers to the area from Witset to Telkwa.

Volunteers create Christmas magic at Santa’s Breakfast

PHOTOS: For the past 19 years, a local event helped remind us that Christmas is a time of giving.

Trudeau to make it harder for future PM to reverse Senate reforms

Of the 105 current senators, 54 are now independents who have banded together in Independent Senators’ Group

Man dies after falling from B.C. bridge

Intoxicated man climbed railing, lost his balance and fell into the water below

B.C. animation team the ‘heart’ of new ‘Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse’

The animators, largely based in Vancouver, ultimately came up with a creative technique that is drawing praise

Light at the end of the tunnel for UN climate talks

Meeting in Katowice was meant to finalize how countries report their emissions of greenhouses gases

Janet Jackson, Def Leppard, Nicks join Rock Hall of Fame

Radiohead, the Cure, Roxy Music and the Zombies will also be ushered in at the 34th induction ceremony

Supreme Court affirms privacy rights for Canadians who share a computer

Section 8 of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms protects Canadians against unreasonable search and seizure

B.C. fire chief pleads with Ottawa for traumatic stress support

Campbell River fire chief Thomas Doherty presented concerns to federal government

‘I practically begged’: Kootenay woman with breast cancer denied referral to Calgary

Breast cancer patient left to fight disease alone after being denied referral to Calgary

21 detained before Paris protests as police deploy in force

There was a strong police presence outside the central Saint Lazare train station, where police in riot gear checked bags

Most Read