The Gitxsan Mystics show off their hardware in Prince Rupert.

The Gitxsan Mystics show off their hardware in Prince Rupert.

Gitxsan Mystics collect ANBT awards

Among the awards collected: best defensive player, all-star, most sportsmanlike team, and women's MVP.

By Bevan Hamilton / The Northern View


The All Native Basketball Tournament (ANBT) wrapped up on Feb. 18, but not before several players and teams went home with some new hardware.

In the awards ceremony, there were a few familiar award-winners, but also several new faces.

The women and masters were given the awards first in an afternoon ceremony. Hazelton placed first in the Women’s division, with Kitamaat, Bella Bella and Prince Rupert Grain placed second, third and fourth, respectively.

Women named All-Stars include Judy Carlick-Pearson from Metlakatla, Cary-Lynn Cochrane of Prince Rupert, Jasmine Reid and Shayla Schooner from Bella Bella, Liana Stevens and Kailee Gardiner from Kitamaat, and Tamara Stoney and Brittany Simpson from Hazelton.


Tamara Stoney calls for the ball from Taylor Wale.

The Miss Hustle award was given to Kitamaat’s Mary-Anne Amos. Also from Kitamaat, Kolynn Bolton was given the Sixth Lady award and Kierra Stevens most inspirational player.

Brittany Simpson was also awarded best defensive player once again, and Greenville’s Kristy Innes the most promising player.


Brittany Simpson

Hazelton was named the most sportsmanlike team, and one of their star players, Taylor Wale, was named the women’s MVP.

Taylor Wale

The women’s high-scorer award went to Kailee Gardiner, who scored 128 points in eight games for a 16 points-per-game average.

In the Master’s division, the All-Stars included Quentin Moore of Kincolith, Ryan Humchitt and Mike Reid from Bella Bella, Marvin Tait and Tony Stevens from Greenville, Trevor Russ and David Hill of Old Massett, and Tony Peele and T.J. Young of Hydaburg.

The individual awards went to Bella Bella’s Ryan Humchitt for Mr. Hustle and Cheyenne White for Sixth Man, Abe Brown of Massett for most inspirational player, Hydaburg’s Sid Edenshaw for most outstanding player, and Joe Young, also of Hydaburg, for most valuable player.

The highest scorer award went to Anthony Lindoff, of Hydaburg, with a 19.8 average over five games.

Lax Kw’alaams was named the most sportmanslike team.

Hydaburg placed first, Massett second, Greenville third and Bella Bella placed fourth.

In the intermediate division, Port Simpson placed first, with Prince Rupert, Bella Coola and Kitkatla rounding out the top four.

All-Stars included Simpson’s Taylor Ross and Jakob Henry, Rupert’s Dionte Stephens and Perrty Terrell Jr., Marlon Apps-Edgar and Duncan Edgar from Bella Coola, Garrett Hill and Malcolm Brown of Kitkatla, Kostan Levirs from Skidegate and Dylan Joe from Vancouver.

The MVP of the tournament was given to John Tait from Port Simpson, who also won best defensive player. Mr. Hustle and most inspirational player went to Nick Campbell of Prince Rupert. Simpson’s Claude Barton was given the Sixth Man award, while Skidegate’s Tyler Jones was named most promising player. John Sampson of Port Simpson was named most outstanding player.

Hartley Bay was named the most sportsmanlike team.

Marlon App-Edgar was given the high scoring award for 172 points — 28.67 per game — in six games.

Rounding out the awards was the seniors division. Skidegate placed first once again, Kitkatla second, Ahousaht third and Bella Bella fourth.

All-Stars included Charlie Leeson and Dustin Eaton from Kitkatla, Duane Alsop and Darcy Pearson from Skidegate, Jefferson Brown and Clint Germyn from Bella Bella, Luke Robinson and Waylon Swan from Ahousaht, Chris Campbell from Massett and Joshua Dennis from Lax Kw’alaams.

Skidegate’s Tyler York took home two awards this year, winning the Mr. Hustle award as well as most valuable player. Jared Casey, also from Skidegate, was named outstanding player.

Kitkatla was also well represented. Joe Lewis won the Sixth Man award, while star Jacob Thom was named best defensive player and most inspirational.

Luke Robinson won the high scorer award, with 191 points in eight games, or a 23.8 point-per-game average.

Hazelton was named the most sportsmanlike team.