Creyke, Karrer win new SMHA awards

Smithers Minor Hockey honoured their best on April 10.

A couple of new awards took centre stage Wednesday night as Smithers Minor Hockey honoured their best and brightest from the 2012–2013 season.

Wynona Creyke was a double award winner, capturing both the brand new Female Hockey Player of the Year award as well as her Pee Wee Storm team’s Most Dedicated Player trophy.

Smithers Minor Hockey president Dave Turko said the award was created to increase interest in female hockey in the area.

“We’re still trying to develop girls hockey, it’s an ongoing thing,” Turko said.

“She was the perfect girl to win the award.

“She includes everyone in her play and she always plays hard.”

Creyke’s coach, Dave Tucker, said she is someone who is always positive and is looked up to by her peers.

“She is well regarded by her teammates on and off the ice for her sense of camaraderie and spirit, her positive attitude and dedication to play her best every game and try with every practice,” Tucker said.

Another new trophy, the Goalie of the Year award, was presented to Midget Storm netminder Joey Karrer.

Karrer had the opportunity to play Junior B hockey this past season, but chose to stay in Smithers to finish his minor hockey career, said coach Brendan Hutchinson.

“This season has blessed us with so much success but often Joey has not received much credit for his calm, solid play,” Hutchinson said.

“Often Joey does not stand out due to his quiet personality, sound technical play and perfect angles.

“Joey truly is our backbone, always the most prepared and focused player in every game that he plays.”

Next up for Smithers Minor Hockey is the Annual General Meeting, May 22 at 7 p.m. at the Aspen Riverhouse meeting room.

All parents and members are welcome to attend.

Also, for the first time, Smithers Minor Hockey is shifting to a fully online registration system.

More details are on Smithers Minor Hockey’s website,, and their Facebook page.

The registration should be available by mid-June, Turko said.


Smithers Minor Hockey Association Memorial and Other Awards


Lee W. Arnold Memorial Award: Hannah Pow (house) and Levi Olson (rep)

Roger Logan Memorial Award: Jean-Rene Lecourt

Bill Robinson Memorial Award: Logan Groves (house) and Fraser Dodd (rep)

Pietro Lorenzon Memorial Trophy: Matt Kapelari (house) and Riley Coish (rep)

Mark Green Memorial Award: Westin Creyke (house) and Ross DeBeck (rep)

Ted and Annabel Tucker Memorial Award: Matthew Tucker

Cody Boot and Family Memorial Award: Jake Frentz and Torin Comiskey

Ruth Griffin Memorial Award: Carson Golder

Volunteer of the Year: Lorne Schmidt

Female Hockey Player of the Year Award: Wynona Creyke

Warren William Memorial Award: Dylan Delany (house) and Jesse Howes (rep)

Goalie of the Year: Joey Karrer

Volunteer of the Year: Brent Muir

Rob and Belinda Layfield Award: Erin Rowsell


Just Posted

B.C. sockeye returns drop as official calls 2019 ‘extremely challenging’

Federal government says officials are seeing the same thing off Alaska and Washington state

Bear orphanage dealing with high number of cubs

Northern Lights Wildlife Society needs fruit and vegetables for orphans

Northwest Wave Riders return from Victoria Dragon Boat Festival

This was the first time in 25 years that northern B.C. teams competed

Feds approve $4M for Tahltan protected and conserved areas

Well defined stewardship will help nation reduce uncertainties for resource partners

BC Parks student rangers complete several northwest B.C. conservation projects

This was the first time the summer program operated out of Terrace

Ethnic media aim to help maintain boost in voting by new Canadians

Statistics Canada says new Canadians made up about one-fifth of the voting population in 2016

BC SPCA overwhelmed with cats, kittens needing homes

Large number of cruelty investigations, plus normal ‘kitten season’ to blame

B.C. Hydro applies for rare cut in electricity rates next year

Province wrote off $1.1 billion debt to help reverse rate increase

Speculation tax forces sale of Greater Victoria’s iconic ‘Tulip House’

Bob and Jan Fleming selling their retirement home famous for its thousands of tulips

New police force in Surrey must avoid VPD, RCMP errors made in Pickton case: Oppal

Boots are scheduled to be on the ground by spring 2021

Man at centre of dropped HIV-disclosure case sues province and 10 cops

Brian Carlisle of Abbotsford says Mission RCMP defamed him and were ‘negligent’ in their investigation

Conan turns to the Property Brothers for tips on buying Greenland

Jonathan Scott suggests removing glaciers and mountains to bring in ‘more natural light’

Forests minister visits B.C. town rocked by multiple mill shutdowns

A third of Mackenzie turns out for rally, not much to cheer about

Most Read