Skip to content

Nominations open for Moricetown Band election

Nomination day in Moricetown is on Wednesday, June 14. Election day is July 27.
Moricetown’s next election is July 27. (Chris Gareau photo)

Moricetown is holding an election.

Those living on and off the reserve will have the opportunity to vote in a new chief and council on July 27.

The current chief is Duane Mitchell and the councillors include Deputy Chief Sheri Green, Andrew Tom, Archie Joseph, Warner William, Ian Michell, Sandra George, Des McKinnon, Lillian Lewis, Freda Huson, Elaine Stevens and Tanya Michell.

The band position carry a two-year term. People interested in running for either position must be a member of the Moricetown Band and be at least 18 years old.

Nomination day is on Wednesday, June 14.

Nomination and ballot forms will be mailed out in the weeks preceding each day.

Band members that are currently living off reserve but would like to participate in the election can email the electoral officer, Leona Charleyboy. More information can be found at

Marisca Bakker

About the Author: Marisca Bakker

Marisca was born and raised in Ontario and moved to Smithers almost ten years ago on a one-year contract.
Read more